I Am a Veteran of The Monkey Army: This is My Story

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Am a Veteran of The Monkey Army: This is My Story

As I watched the BFB march deliberately towards the town, several emotions swiveled through me.

Anticipation- I had been waiting for this moment since the day I began my kill training back in ‘02. For a glorious
    moment my thoughts and emotions stood balm, as Sergeant Monkeys words flew through my brain one last time.

“You were born to pop! You are marching into battle to do nothing else but kill! This is your destiny soldier! This is what I trained you for! When those balloons come racing down that track, they will be filled with nothing but intense hatred, and a gut wrenching intent to kill everyone in sight. This includes you, your friends and your family. YOU WILL STRIKE THEM DEAD PRIVATE,” I remembered fondly how he paused; and looked at me in an almost loving way before finishing, “Because our whole world depends on it. We depend on you.”

Next, a ping of sadness enveloped me, wounding me deep inside, reaching into my core to thrash and tear at my organs.

I shook my head, attempting to clear my thoughts and let the machine-gun rip.

I couldn’t. I had spent the last ten years of my life training for that very moment, and when I finally had the monster out in the open, the one who wanted nothing more than to kill my townspeople... I failed to pull the trigger.

Then, one final emotion before the world went bleak, and all feelings left me, creating a stark and hollow shell of my old self. Shame. Immense shame clawed its way through me, as I realized that I was not what I was meant to be.

“You were born to pop!”

I couldn’t.

“We depend on you!”

I failed them.